A Travel Trade Platform

Close this search box.

12 Countries Could Be Open to Holidaymakers from May

As the countdown to May 17th continues and hope remains high amongst customers and the travel industry, a traffic light system could allow 12 countries onto the green list.

Prime Minister, Boris Johnson is set to unveil this framework on Monday (April 5th), with May 17th as the earliest possible date of non-essential travel.

These holiday destinations include Europe such as Malta, Portugal and Gibraltar, as well as further afield destinations of Israel, UAE, the US, Canada, Mexico, Sri Lanka, Morocco and Grenada.

This means that UK travellers can return without quarantine requirements.

The amber list may include Cyprus, Turkey, Greece and Spain.

Paul Charles, Chief Executive of the PC Agency has said “based on red, amber and green, this will be a simple chart of where is safe to go and when.” 

“It will enable consumers to have clarity on where to travel safely and be updated on a weekly basis by the government, similar to the European equivalent.”

He expects ‘red’ will mean quarantine in a hotel on return to the UK and ‘amber’ will need a test up to 72 hours before return and then two lateral flow tests once in the UK.

Green will mean travellers will need to take a test up to 72 hours before return to the UK, he added.

Related Articles

Agent Incentive

Riviera Travel Euro 2024 Winners Revealed

Agent Incentive

Agents: Win A Transatlantic Crossing With Cunard

Agent Incentive

Agents: Win A European River Cruise With AmaWaterways

Please fill in the form below